Picture
In the history of education, most teachers have either chosen or been limited to teaching via speech. Well, if you look to the left, you can see that a picture says, in this case, 24 words! This summer I am tutoring a child who is entering the first grade in the fall; tomorrow we will be reading Joseph Had a Little Overcoat and I am using this visual as a pre-reading activity. How did I create this? I used a word cloud via Tugxedo! It's simple; just click on the link and do one of either three options: 1. copy/paste a selection (such as the U.S. Constitution, a famous speech, newspaper article, etc); 2. enter in a website URL; 3. type in a paragraph, story, etc. Then, click "submit" and choose a theme and shape. 

Another website you can use to create word clouds is Wordle. The only difference between the two sites is that Tugxedo allows you to choose a shape for your image. Below is a slideshow of the images found on the website.

Other visuals that I will be using in the classroom include graphic organizers. While there are many free printable templates on the web that I can use, I can also create my own using Inspiration and Bubbl.us and Mywebspiration. Graphic organizer are EXCELLENT for during instructional activities that I will definitely implement into my middle school science and social studies lessons. 

This is your new blog post. Click here and start typing, or drag in elements from the top bar.



Leave a Reply.